Day 14 – Officially Two Weeks In!

My weight this morning was 209.6.  (Down 4.4 pounds total.)  Phew.  Another pound and a half gone!  If I lose two more pounds, I will be at my lowest weight in about 5 years.  While that’s sad to think about, I’m going to use it as motivation.  When you better yourself, it’s a victory.  If you’ve read a few of my posts, you know I really like to focus on the victories!

What have I been doing right?  I have definitely been eating very well.  I’m not a person who can eat plain chicken breasts and lettuce for every meal.  I have to mix it up with really healthy food as well as with food I actually like.  Since I’ve been through this about a thousand times, I know what doesn’t work for me so I will make sure to avoid those types of things!  I have eaten LOTS of fresh fruits and veggies.  Luckily, I’ve always been a person who likes ’em!  And I eat my salads without dressing (EW DRESSING!) so that works in my favor as well!

Since I’m meal planning, I know if I’m going to be eating a meal that is a little heavier on carbs, sodium, etc… So I have been consciously making up for it in what I eat the other meal.  For example, one day I knew I was going to be having my whole wheat pasta with meat sauce and a piece of garlic bread as a treat for dinner.  Not the healthiest meal for me right now.  So for lunch, I ate a healthy portion of meat with a veggie salad.  My calories were solid and my nutritional values evened out.  When I make it work like that, I don’t feel so much that I’m dieting as much as I’m cutting back.  I need to get some favorites in, but they need to be in moderation.

I’ve stayed away from foods I know I won’t stop eating.  Doritos, french fries, chicken nuggets, etc…  These I can’t have in moderation.  Good intentions are great, but I know myself too well.  I’ll buy a small bag of Doritos and want more.  I’ll buy a big bag and think I can make it last for a couple weeks, and then they’re gone.  It’s been over two weeks since I’ve had Doritos… I almost can forget how amazing they taste (except not really).

I’ve been really good at drinking water.  I’m a girl who loves her Diet Pepsi.  When I was really bad, I could go through almost a whole 2 liter in one day.  No bueno!  I think I’ve had maybe three glasses in two weeks?  I’m giving myself a pretty good high five over that!

And now with the bad…

NOT ENOUGH EXERCISE!  Ok, this one is a little hard for me.  I’ve exercised.  I’ve gone for walks.  I’ve done some training at home.  Even when I’m busy, I’ve been out moving around which means I’m not eating.  So really, I’ve done better in these two weeks than I had been prior to starting.  But I had plans, man.  I want strength.  Stamina.  I don’t want to lose weight just to have flab.  I’m young enough that I still have hope that I’m going to look ok after all of this is said and done.  To do this, I need to exercise more.

I could fill about three solid paragraphs about my disappointment in my lack of exercise, but I’m not going to.  I just need to do better.

Two weeks in.  A long ways to go.  But I’ve started.  And anyone that has been through this knows that starting is half the battle.

Stevie

Leave a comment